Update of my plans

So, I’m definitely not good at keeping a blog, as anyone can notice. But I thought I give you an update of what my plans are for my study in Japan, since I change these plans often. And maybe you can give me some advice too, so if you’re reading this feel free to comment! I’ll first tell you what my former plans were. First I wanted to go on a trip to Japan, but since the plane tickets aren’t that cheap from Belgium to Japan (about 800 euros to Tokyo, which is equal to about 82.000 yen or 1.055 USD), the ticket would be half of what the whole trip would cost. That’s when I got the idea of studying Japanese in Japan. The first school I found was GenkiJACS in Fukuoka, I emailed to that school and the response was very friendly so I thought “that school is great, I’ll go there!” But after that I looked a bit further and Kyoto, Osaka, Gifu and even way to expensive Tokyo became an option. But in the end I chose Fukuoka, for some reason I really like that city, even if I’ve never been there before. At first I wanted to go for a year, but it seems I can’t get enough money by the time I want to leave, so the period got shorter and shorter.

English: Bayside Place Hakata Futoh, in Hakata...

Now, my new plans. I found another language school in Fukuoka, called WAHAHA Japanese Language School. I compared and found out that school itself would be cheaper than GenkiJACS, but the dorm is much further away and more expensive. I now hope I can stay at the dorm that GenkiJACS recommends, because it’s a lot closer to the city center and cheaper. I was thinking of a shared appartment, because that looks cheaper, but there are no adresses on the WAHAHA website. I’ll have to look further into this. The new plan is staying for 3 months, this way I won’t need a visa.

Watanabe-dori Avenue.(Chuo Ward, Fukuoka City,...
Chuo-ward in Fukuoka

After going to Japan, I would like to experience South Korea as well. I’m not sure yet what I’ll do there, I’d like to volunteer but Belgium doesn’t seem to offer any volunteering program to South Korea so I’m a bit lost in my search here. If anyone can help, please let me know! I found a language school too, so if I can’t find a volunteering program, I’m going to learn the language. Before going straight to South Korea, I’m going home first and after a month or two I’d leave for South Korea for 3 months.

That’s it for today. Any comments, advice on the accommodation in Fukuoka or anything else, everything is really welcome!

4 thoughts on “Update of my plans

  1. yah, i must agree that wahaha seems to be cheaper than genki…
    i am still deciding…another consideration is also because it’s such a short trip, it may not be worthwhile to sign up for the course…but i emailed to both schools and asked if i could attend a trial class, no problem! haha…

    Like

    • Oh I see! That’s great that you can attend a trial class at both schools! If possible, could you let me know your opinion afterwards? That would be really really helpful! ^_^

      Like

  2. hi there, so have you started your studies in japan?
    i am planning a short trip to fukuoka this coming May, and i am thinking of trying out a short course…at the moment comparing between Wahaha and GenkiJACS…

    Like

    • Hey! I will only start in October so you’ll probably know earlier than me. I was comparing a lot too between those two schools. GenkiJACS was my favourite for a long time, but after a while it appeared that Wahaha is cheaper so I’ll probably go to Wahaha! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

