Details

I already put some information on my trip here before but my mom asked to post some more so here I go!

In 4 weeks I will be in Fukuoka. On March 12th I have to take a train from Brussels to Paris, at 7.05 in the morning. The train ride should take 1h15, so if all goes well I arrive in Paris at 8.20. There I have 4h05 to find my way to the gate and to board, to take off at 12.55. This flight with China Eastern Airlines will take me to Shanghai, where I should arrive  at 7.00 the next day (this is midnight in Belgium). Another 3h20 later, the plane to Fukuoka takes off. Here I should arrive at 12.55 (which is 4.55 in Belgium).

So, since I have to be one hour early to board the train, I will be en route for about 24h… Crazy! And knowing I probably won’t be able to sleep on the plane(s), it’s even more crazy!

Fukuoka (photo credit: metropolis.co.jp)

So on Wednesday March 13th around noon, I’ll arrive in Fukuoka. There I will have to find my accommodation, which is a dormitory called ‘Sharey Style’ in Minami ward in Fukuoka. It seems to be rather far from the school (about 6,5 km) so I have to take a train. I can’t really say much about the area around the dorm, because there doesn’t seem to be anything interesting around (or I don’t find anything in that area on the internet). This will be my accommodation for the first three weeks of the trip.

The Monday after I arrive, it’s time to go to school. The school is called Genki Japanese and Culture School (short: GenkiJACS), located in the center of Fukuoka City. Close to the seaside, to parks, to the shopping area, close to about everything I guess. This is where I’ll attend 4 hours of Japanese class 5 days a week for 3 weeks. Once I get more specific information on the course, I’ll post it here on my blog.

The entrance to GenkJACS. (photo credit: GenkiJACS)

The classes end on April 5th and so April 6th I’ll have to leave the dorm. Until here everything is planned, the following weeks aren’t. The only thing I know is that I will WWOOF, this is kind of voluntary work which I explained in an earlier post:

After the language classes I’m going to ‘WWOOF‘. In short this is sort of like a homestay/voluntary work. You work about 6 hours a day (I think 6 days a week) and in return you get a place to stay (most of the time you stay with either other WWOOFers or with the WWOOF host) and food. You only pay for a membership of the organization, which lasts for 1 year, and in Japan this costs 5500 yen. Of course you also pay for your transportation and own expenses. But I think it’s a good way to see and experience ‘real life’. For the WWOOFing, I’m going to stay around Kyushu, so I don’t have to travel too far. If I like this kind of work, I hope I can do it in another area of Japan in the future.

I’m not sure if I’m only going to stay in Kyushu, I haven’t contacted any hosts yet either. So for more information about this, you’ll have to keep an eye on my blog! 😉

On June 9th I should return home, arriving June 10th. I guess these details aren’t important (yet)…

One thought on “Details

  1. Pingback: Japan, here I come! | yoooya

Leave a Reply

