Travel through Japan: part V

Ah, we’ve arrived in Kyoto! Our second-to-last stop of this ‘travel through Japan’-series. Whenever I’m writing my blog, I have my facebook photo albums opened too, so that I can easily insert the photos her. Now, I started looking at the Kyoto album, and I had absolutely no clue what the first few pictures were about, and whether we actually visited this place in Kyoto and not somewhere else! I should hurry up with this series, because I’m starting to forget the details!

So, here’s one of those pictures. I figured out it’s an aqueduct, so I just googled ‘Kyoto roman aqueduct’ and it appears to be an aqueduct that brings water from Lake Biwa to Kyoto. It’s located near the Nanzenji Temple. And so I wonder, did we really visit this temple?! It seems we missed it, which is -looking at the pictures I found through my search- a pity…

The aqueduct in Kyoto.

After walking aorund in circles, we met Paul and Sue, a nice Australian couple that was as lost as we were. Bundling our power, we tried to find the famed Ginkaku-ji. Luckily my friend and I could speak some Japanese so we were able to get some directions from two kind old ladies. We were supposed to follow the so-called Philosopher’s Walk, but for some reason or other we only found this path on our way back.

Ginkaku-ji

The beautiful stone garden of Ginkaku-ji.

The beautiful stone garden of Ginkaku-ji.

The wonderful garden of Ginkaku-ji.

At Ginkaku-ji.

Sue and Paul suggested we spend the whole day with them, since they were going to visit Arashiyama too. Arashiyama (meaning ‘storm mountain’) is known for its beautiful bamboo forest.

Arashiyama.

Near Arashiyama.

It’s very difficult to take a photo without people in it at the bamboo forest! There were photographers basically camping there a whole day just to get a photo withouth people in it!

After visiting Arashiyama, we said goodbye to our kind companions and visited Kinkaku-ji. It’s one of the most stunning views I’ve ever seen!

Kinkaku-ji.

Kinkaku-ji.

Our last stop for today was at Nijo Castle. Although it was partly under restoration, it was still amazing!

Nijo Castle.

The castle’s gardens.

Nijo Castle.

The castle’s moat.

Nijo Castle’s gardens.

The gardens at Nijo Castle.

Part of the castle and its gardens.

The moat of Nijo Castle.

The castle walls.

After visiting Nijo Castle, I returned to the hostel in Gion. My friend had to go to a different hostel because she could only stay at the Gion hostel for one night. Luckily we couldn’t find a hostel with fair prices just down the street. Since my friend needed only 2 nights in Kyoto while I stayed for 3 nights, we decided this was the best decision.

Leave a Reply

