August and September 2013

I’m going to try something new! Using Flickr to insert photos in my posts. It’s odd that I didn’t think of that earlier but it’s never too late I guess. I hope this works. 😉

Also, since I’m still writing about things that happened 1,5 years ago, I’ll try to speed up to finally catch up so I can write about current events. So here’s a bit about August and September 2013. Yep, nothing seemed to have happened in July of that year!

I returned from Japan around 10 June, and only two months later did I have an opportunity to eat Japanese food again! Foreign food is hard to find in Belgium, and it’s expensive too, so I don’t get many chances to enjoy it. I met up with a friend in Leuven, and lucky for us: Leuven is kind of the ‘Asian hub’ of Belgium. Not sure if this is actually true but we noticed it had a lot more Japanese restaurants than anywhere else in Belgium.

Finally, Japanese food

About a week later I went to visit a friend who lives ‘across the water’, meaning she lives at the other side of the Scheldt river, which is one of the most important rivers in Belgium. The fastest and easiest way to cross? A ferry boat of course! It’s one of the few left in Belgium, so it always feels like a special adventure, taking the boat. When I tell my friends “I take the boat to visit my friend” they’re often envious. 😉 Next to the ferry’s landing stands our little church, with it’s cute little tower.

Weather vane on top of Baasrode's church

And at the other side there’s one of the most important factories in our village, which mainly does water and road works. The building closest to the ferry’s landing is a bit abandoned though.

Waiting for the ferry

Waiting for the ferryboat

While I was in Japan, my dad and my brother decided to get a dog; a labrador. They named him Makker (Buddy), just like our previous dog, who died 6 years before. They didn’t really bother taking proper pictures of him, so here’s the first non-blurry pictures of our dog!

Makker

Cute right?

In our garden we have lots of butterfly-bushes (or summer lilac/orange eye), so in summer lots and lots of butterflies visit our garden. It’s really a sight to see!

Butterfly

The Scheldt, I mentioned before, runs past our village and in summer it’s a great place to cool down a bit or to enjoy the silence –okay, if you ignore the annoying cycling tourists who think the road is all theirs.

Scheldt

At the end of August, I visited the capital. Though many Belgians despise Brussels, I think it’s really underrated. There are so many beautiful buildings, parks, shopping facilities and of course lots of delicious food! Here’s one of my favourite views in Brussels.

Brussels skyline

On to September then! One day I woke up and my window was full of little raindrops. I really love rain, and the raindrops looked so nice with the morning sunshine in the background.

And more raindrops

More raindrops

Raindrops

Look at those beautiful silver raindrops! Since this sight gave me lots of energy, I went outside with our dog hoping to find a few more interesting spots for photos.

Makker

It was a bit too wet outside so I couldn’t find any good photo spots… The next day I visited the only museum in Baasrode, I could go for free so why not!

Museum of naval something something

It’s a museum about the naval industry or something, I’m not quite sure how I should translate its name (Scheepvaartmuseum). Due to the village’s perfect situation on the Scheldt, Baasrode has a maritime history. The village was important enough for the Spaniards to attack it before they went on to Antwerp, an attack which unfortunately caused total destruction of the village.

Old rusty mirror

The day after I visited the museum, I spotted this ‘abandoned’ building. It wasn’t actually abandoned, but was being demolished. The demolition took a few weeks though.

Abandoned building

And the same day, Open Monument Day, a day on which many monuments all over Europe can be visited, usually for free. So my mother and I decided to visit the beguinage in Dendermonde. The Beguinage of Saint Alexius is one of the 26 remaining beguinages in Flanders, which are all UNESCO World Heritage Sites. This beguinage was founded in 1270, so it’s almost 750 years old.

The chapel at the Beguinage Saint-Alexius

Entrance to the chapel at the Beguinage Saint-Alexius

The inside of the chapel at the Beguinage Saint-Alexius

The beguinage is still used, but there are no more beguines left (the last beguine died in 1975 at the age of 104).

Here’s a video of a cool trampoline thing at a school festival:

Leave a Reply

