October 2013

Since I was still suffering a bit from glandular fever –I finally remember why I didn’t take any photos in July; I was in the hospital for a few days and then on the sofa for three more weeks– I could only do a short term job before going to Japan again. On the second of October, I think, I worked for De Lijn, the public bus company of Flanders –public transportation in Belgium is government-run. For their yearly statistics, they ask people to sit at a bus stop for about six hours, to count the amount of passengers getting on, getting off and riding the buses. I had to do the counting for the morning period, from 6 am until noon, if I remember correctly. I do remember very well that it was still dark outside when I started and that it was really cold! But luckily, I got to see the sun rise and that made the cold (and the dark, of course) go away quickly.

Baasrode

Baasrode

Baasrode

Baasrode

The next day, a friend and I enjoyed a fantastic concert of Olly Murs in the AB (Ancienne Belgique) in Brussels. It had been a long time since my last concert so I was really glad to attend one again. Olly was a good entertainer and made us feel proud of being Belgian.

Olly Murs

Olly Murs

(it’s a shame my camera is no good when it’s dark)

The following morning, I witnessed this amazing composition of vapour trails from my bedroom’s window. I guess it was rush hour, even in the sky!

Vapour trails

And since October means autumn, this post just isn’t complete without mushrooms. There were several in our backyard, all grouped together.

Mushroom

Mushroom

The ninth or tenth of October, it was finally time for me to go to Japan again!

Plane arrives at Narita

I passed this building in Kawasaki, it’s the Kawasaki Daishi temple in Kawasaki, where people can pray for traffic safety of vehicles. I like the architecture of this building.

Temple for traffic safety

I stayed with a family in Yokosuka, and they took me to a temple in Kamakura on one of the first days. Before going to the temple, we ate cold soba near the train station, then we went on to visit the religious site. Unfortunately I can’t remember the name of the temple. The many stairs on the vast grounds of the temple made me feel exhausted and the temperatures of around 30 degrees Celcius didn’t really help either.

Temple in Yokosuka

Once we visited the temple, we hiked up a small mountain (in 30 degrees!) and arriving at the top we decided to rest a little. The daughter of the family entertained herself -and us- with lining up donguri (acorns).

Nuts

A few days later, the family took me out again. This time we were going to hike up a mountain near their home, called Mt. Takatori. On our way there we saw this little guy. The Japanese celebrate a very non-spooky Halloween in my opinion, but they seem to do a good job at carving pumpkins.

Happy Halloween

We got to the top of the mountain, from where we could see the whole area.

Yokosuka

It was a bit cloudy, because it was nearing sunset, but after a few clouds blew away I realized we were in front of Mt. Fuji! The funny thing was that I told them we could see Mt. Fuji, while you’d expect they would see it first.

Fuji-san!

To descend, we took a different path, and came across a statue carved .

Giant statue

It was getting dark, and the daughter was getting scared. She would scream 暗い!(dark!) 怖い!(scary!) the whole way down, since we also were a bit lost and had to go through a bit of a deserted part of the mountain were there was barely a path. Fortunately we did get to the bottom of the mountain, but it was already 9 pm and we hadn’t even had dinner yet so we returned home after stopping at the supermarket.

A few days later I visited Yokohama again.

Yokohama

And at the end of my stay with the host family, I made them a real Belgian cake. They almost begged me to make it. 😉

Cakesnowcake

(When I posted this photo to facebook, I hoped to get the reaction of ‘Oh my, is that snow?!’… I was really amused when a friend actually posted such a comment, mission accomplished!)

At the end of October, I went for a last trip in Yokosuka: Kurihama Hana no Kuni (Kurihama Flower World). This is a big park which has different flowers blooming one after the other. Cosmos is one of my favourite flowers, and coincidentally it was the period when Cosmos bloomed.

DSC03492

DSC03467

DSC03481

What’s also in Kurihama Hana no Kuni, is a big statue of Godzilla. Why? In the very first series of Godzilla, the beast emerges from the sea at Kannonzaki, Yokosuka.

DSC03495

Behind Godzilla is a big playground.

DSC03496

And a great view of Yokosuka.

DSC03497

Early November I moved to Kawasaki, from where I had an even better view of Mt. Fuji! But that is all for my next post, see you then.

Leave a Reply

