A January in Seoul (part II), snow in Japan and returning to Belgium

At the end of January, we visited the National Folk Museum in Seoul with a group of people from school. The original plan was to go ice skating. Due to smog, it was decided that people could only go on the ice for a short amount of time, so the teachers decided it wasn’t worth the money. Since only a few of us actually showed up, it was easy to decide on something else to do. The National Folk Museum was our new destination, but before going there we wanted to warm up a bit with a nice hot coffee. On our way to the coffee shop we saw this sign. Something doesn’t seem right about it…

Something's not right here...

After coffee at a cozy cafe nearby, we set out to the Museum. We didn’t go inside the museum itself, but we visited part of the museum which was in open air.

National Folk Museum, Seoul

National Folk Museum, Seoul

National Folk Museum, Seoul

There were several buildings from old times set up as a little village. It felt like going back in time.

National Folk Museum, Seoul

There were, amongst others, an old bookshop, an old cafe, a vintage train, a little school (from a time where Korea was still one, as shown on the map) and a hairdresser. In one of the houses people could dress in old costumes and take photos, a background showing some long gone scenery included.

National Folk Museum, Seoul

National Folk Museum, Seoul

National Folk Museum, Seoul

National Folk Museum, Seoul

National Folk Museum, Seoul

National Folk Museum, Seoul

National Folk Museum, Seoul

National Folk Museum, Seoul

The village looked even more beautiful covered in fresh snow.

National Folk Museum, Seoul

National Folk Museum, Seoul

National Folk Museum, Seoul

We ended our day with delicious bibimbap!

Bibimbap

After this outing I had my first Japanese classes, which were scheduled at the end of my stay. My Korean classes had already ended so I’d only have to focus on Japanese at that time. I returned to Japan at the end of the week, where I stayed for another 10 days before returning to Belgium.

Just a few days after returning to Japan, Tokyo and surrounding areas experiences the biggest snowfall in a long time.

Snow in Kawasaki

Snow in Kawasaki

Snow in Kawasaki

Snow in Kawasaki

Snow in Kawasaki

Just a few days later, I decided to go home. I spent a few days with friends in Tokyo and on February 14th, I got on a plane and left Japan. Before going though, I treated myself to some delicious pancakes at the airport.

Airport food

Once returned to Belgium, I was quite surprised that in Belgium winter had been really soft and the spring flowers were already blooming in February.

Signs of spring

Signs of spring

Signs of spring

Signs of spring

Signs of spring

This had been the longest time I had ever been away from home (4 months in total), so when I got back I took my time to rest and get used to life here again. It took a while until I shook off the habit of bowing to people for each and every little thing. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

