Cherry blossoms and more spring time!

Today’s post is going to be full of pictures! I really love spring because it gives so many photo opportunities. The world looks so much better after the dark days of winter.

I love the dew left on plants in the morning.

April 2014

I love cherry blossoms, just like these I saw in Schaerbeek (Brussels, Belgium). I had never been in Schaerbeek before, and the only image I had of this town was that it was dangerous. Because Brussels as a whole just has that kind of image. But when I saw this whole street lined with blossoming cherry trees, I was really taken by surprise!

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

I wondered why there were so many cherry trees at this place, so when I got home I searched the web for an explanation. It turns out that the people of Schaerbeek were cultivators of sour cherries, which were mainly used for Kriek (a style of Belgian beer) production.

Back to our own garden then! Apple blossoms, our dog Makker, the cherry blossom of the garden across the street, flowers, flowers and more flowers.

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

One day, when I was waiting for a train at the little station of Baasrode, I got an animal visitor to keep me company. The cat was really tame and didn’t mind my petting it. Somewhere along the train line then, there’s a garden where pony’s, chickens, sheep, goats, and even llama’s and white kangaroo-like animals live. It’s crazy! (the two last aren’t really the usual pets around here ;))

April 2014

April 2014

Around half April, I visited a friend whom I hadn’t seen for a year or so. She lives across the river so I took the little ferry to the other side. On my way back, the moon was already high in the sky. I still wonder where that ‘man on the moon’ is. Can anyone tell me? I don’t see it! Near the ferry pier, there’s a deserted old brewery. The building looks awesome, and many people think it’s a pity that it hasn’t been maintained for so long.

April 2014

April 2014

April 2014

See you next week for May 2014, including some Quidditch! šŸ˜‰

9 thoughts on “Cherry blossoms and more spring time!

Leave a Reply

