Babysitting, getting lost and an izakaya

Yesterday, after having breakfast, my host mom came home from the hospital. Her husband had to go for a check-up and had to stay overnight. She told me that she got a call from the kindergarten, saying Yui needed to go home because of a rash. In Japan, kids are sent home when they show the slightest sign of sickness. Yui’s mom and dad were working, but dad was on his way home. Since she had to be picked up as soon as possible, we went to pick her up. My host mom had to go back to the hospital, so I had to watch Yui until her dad got home. I could barely understand her (she’s 3 years old), so it was kind of awkward. It was probably weird for her as well; I think 3-year olds can’t really understand that some people speak a different language. My host mom said it was for only half an hour but it was well over an hour before her dad returned.

Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan

After Yui left, I decided to go for another walk. At first, I was planning on taking the same route as the day before, but then I probably saw something interesting and got off that path. Like a child, following my curiosity. I ended up entirely not knowing where I was. I followed a little stream, embedded in the pavement. Then the Edogawa river bank, where I thought to find my original route. But … I didn’t. I was lost. I knew where I came from, so the only thing I had to do was go in that direction again, right? I took an hour or so to find something I recognized, but getting lost was fun. It was the first time I actually got lost in Japan, but also the first time I went off my usual route. Because I always feared getting lost. Now I know I just have to trust my sense of orientation. 😀

Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, Japan

When I returned, my host mom was back as well. While she made yakisoba for dinner, I took a shower. During dinner, we talked and she was proud of me that I could make myself clear if I just tried hard enough (and if she let me think instead of interrupting me). My Japanese isn’t really good, but I feel proud as well that I can make difficult things clear. She had to go back to the hospital and said to watch TV to practice my Japanese some more. But honestly, Japanese TV shows suck. They do, really. They’re all chaotic and confusing and they’re basically just about nothing at all. I read Angels and Demons for a bit, and then decided to try watching TV anyway. It was one big chaos! But an actor I like was in one show so I watched that. I guess it was a quiz show, they had to guess 10 flowers that grow in summer or guess 10 animals that appear in sayings.

I just started watching when my host mom returned. After a while, she asked to tag along to a friend of hers. I was already in my pyjamas, but no one cared. The friend owned a bar/small izakaya, and was impressed that I could speak some Japanese. My host mom had a request for her, some sewing for her magic act, so that’s why we went there. It was a cozy bar with a typical Japanese feel. The owner made us several interesting foods, such as lotus root and ginger (I was surprised to learn that ginger can be eaten as a whole). I think we left at about half past 10, and went home on foot. I went to bed almost immediately.

Leave a Reply

