A walk to Bikku bikku bikku bikku camera + shabushabu

I’m a bit behind with posting already, so I’ll try to make up to it by not going into detail so much. 😉

Tuesday, I decided to finally go buy a new (‘professional’) camera. This was already my plan from the start, but I wasn’t sure if I’d but it in Tokyo or wait until Fukuoka. This area is so nice, that I just wanted to capture it with a better camera, so off I went to Bic Camera. Whenever I think of Bic Camera, the commercial starts playing in my head, where they sing Bikku bikku bikku bik camera! Maybe that sounds weird, but I bet you all have experienced something like this yourselves.

The nearest Bic Camera was a good 2 kilometers away, so I checked the online map again and again to make sure I wouldn’t get lost. I got there without problems and after a long indecisive camera comparing moment, I went home with the Canon EOS D700 (or EOS Kiss x7i, as it’s called here in Japan). I didn’t take pictures with it until Thursday, because I wanted to fully charge the battery first, and I stayed over at a friend’s place in the evening, so I had to wait until Thursday. I did take some pictures during my walk with my ‘old’ camera.

Koiwa, Tokyo, JapanKoiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, JapanKoiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, JapanKoiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, JapanKoiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, JapanKoiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, JapanKoiwa, Tokyo, Japan
Koiwa, Tokyo, JapanKoiwa, Tokyo, Japan

In the evening, my friend picked me up and we went to her aunt’s place. From there, we changed cars and together with the aunt, uncle and two daughters we drove to a shabushabu place. It was my first shabushabu, so it was really really confusing! Especially since for them, it’s completely normal. For those who don’t know what shabushabu is:

Shabu-shabu (しゃぶしゃぶ, also spelled shyabu-shyabu) is a Japanese dish featuring thinly sliced beef boiled in water. The term is an onomatopœia, derived from the sound emitted when the ingredients are stirred in the cooking pot. The dish is related to sukiyaki in style: Both consist of thinly sliced meat and vegetables and served with dipping sauces. However, shabu-shabu is considered to be more savory and less sweet than sukiyaki. (wikipedia)

It was delicious and we had a great time! Once again, it was difficult to communicate because they speak little to no English, but with a little help from google translate, we somehow manage to communicate. 😉

We drove back to their house, where my friend and I would stay for the night. Before going to bed, we played cards and I taught them the ‘speed’ version we play in Belgium, or at least the version my sister taught me. We had to quit halfway though, because our version can go on for hours and it was really time to go to bed. Together with the two daughters, we slept in one room on two futons. I barely got any sleep, because I have to get used to futons (/sleeping on the hard floor) again.

The next morning, I woke up at 5, because, you know, that’s when the sun rises in Japan. By 9, we all got up and my friend made French toast for breakfast. My hosts thought for a long time to think of a place we could visit. In the end, it was decided we’d go to Shinjuku Gyoen. We waited for the oldest daughter to come back from the school pool and then headed to Shinjuku. The entrance to the parking lot took a while to find, but after half an hour of circling the park, we finally managed to find it.

Shinjuku GyoenShinjuku Gyoen
Shinjuku GyoenShinjuku Gyoen
Shinjuku GyoenShinjuku Gyoen

Unfortunately, I forgot to charge my camera’s battery (again!) so I couldn’t take as much photos as I would’ve wanted to. It was really hot, so we decided to just go home after our visit to the park. It’s between one and two hours drive, so we only got home around 5 pm. Since I’m such a difficult person when it comes to food, no one could decide what to eat. In the end they just threw a few things together and by 9 there was finally food on the table… After dinner, it was time to go home so we had to say goodbye. They said I should stay over for 3 days or so next time, an offer which I’ll gladly accept. 😀

It had been a long day, so not long after I got home, I went to bed. I must say, the ghost story show which we watched before dinner was kind of haunting me, although I don’t really believe any of those things. It’s all ridiculous and obviously edited, but still I’m scared of seeing things that aren’t supposed to be there. Silly me!

Leave a Reply

