Getting lost in Hakata (3)

Hmm, I said in my last post of over a week ago that I would post the next part ‘tomorrow’. Sorry ’bout that! Here’s the part 3 you’ve all been waiting for! 😉

After visiting Shoufukuji, I noticed another temple in the same area. At the entrance there was an information board, so I thought it might be interesting. But … I was wrong. For some reason, all doors and entrances were closed and the only place I could access was a graveyard. Now, graveyards in Japan are rather peaceful and somehow relaxing, so don’t imagine any creepy place where you definitely wouldn’t want to go at night…

Hakata, Fukuoka, Japan
Next to this graveyard, there was yet another religious place, of which I could see the Buddha statue overlooking the place.
Hakata, Fukuoka, Japan

Other than these two parts, I could only spot the entrance to some other part of this temple.

Hakata, Fukuoka, Japan
Since I couldn’t get access to any of the parts of the temple, I exited and decided to find out about the red pagoda-like building I spotted some time before.
Hakata, Fukuoka, Japan

Entering yet another temple! This time another famous one, called Tochoji.

Hakata, Fukuoka, Japan
In this hall, only practitioners of the Buddhist religion could enter so I photographed it from a distance.
Hakata, Fukuoka, Japan

And there it was, the red pagoda-like building I had seen from the other temples.

Hakata, Fukuoka, JapanHakata, Fukuoka, Japan

The temple grounds weren’t that big, but it was a nice place to stroll around.

Hakata, Fukuoka, JapanHakata, Fukuoka, Japan

After that I noticed there was actually a big Buddha statue inside the first building. I went inside and found a magnificent looking Buddha statue, but unfortunately cameras weren’t allowed so I can’t show you. 😦

Whether you like it or not: next up is a post without temples or shrine! … Okay, maybe one tiny little shrine at the seaside. 😉

3 thoughts on “Getting lost in Hakata (3)

  1. Pingback: Getting lost in Hakata (4) | yoooya

Leave a Reply

