Getting lost in Hakata (4)

After exiting the temple with the big Buddha, I just followed the Hakata’s main street, of which I knew it led to the port area. Along this street, there’s a lot of information about the history of Hakata. Really lots of it! And displayed in a really nice way.

Hakata, Fukuoka, JapanHakata, Fukuoka, Japan After quite a walk, I finally arrived at the port area. I was so happy to see the sea! It felt good and there was a nice breeze.
Hakata, Fukuoka, Japan

At Hakata Port, I also found Hakata Port Tower, which you can climb for free. I only realized last week that that’s possible so I’ll go back later this month.

Hakata, Fukuoka, JapanHakata, Fukuoka, Japan Hakata, Fukuoka, JapanAnd then there was, of course, this little shrine (which I promised you in my previous post on getting lost in Hakata). Hakata, Fukuoka, Japan Hakata, Fukuoka, JapanHakata, Fukuoka, Japan Hakata, Fukuoka, JapanHakata, Fukuoka, Japan Hakata, Fukuoka, Japan Hakata, Fukuoka, Japan

The area around the port is really nice, especially on a sunny day. There are also an aquarium with giant sea turtles, some restaurants and a few shopping facilities, so you can spend a nice afternoon here. When I visited, it was around 35 degrees (C) so I just looked around and took some pictures.

The next post will be the last one for this getting lost in Hakata series, so stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “Getting lost in Hakata (4)

Leave a Reply

