Sumiyoshi Shrine (2)

The second part of my post on Sumiyoshi Shrine in Fukuoka.

Since it had been rainy those days and there are a lot of trees and bushes around the shrine’s buildings, mosquitoes gathered in the humid spaces near the ground. Not noticing this for a moment, we just wandered around the shrine, until one friend exclaimed: “Oh no, look at your legs! This place is full of mosquitoes! Watch out!” But her warning was too late, at least for me. I am known to attract mosquitoes, and I must have really good blood… I didn’t sleep at all that night, due to the continuous itching on my legs. In the morning I counted the bites, and found over a 100 red bumps on my legs… I already have a little bit of an allergy to mosquito bites (nothing bad), so it was just horrible. When I arrived at school, I went to the reception desk to ask for some kind of medicine that would stop or at least soften the itching. I became a celebrity throughout that day (or week), every asking me: “Show me! That looks horrible! I’m starting to feel itchy just looking at you…”  It took over two weeks for the itching to stop, and the bumps stayed there for another few weeks. It was truly a sight to see!

On top of all this, my friends were spared and got away with just a few bits. Lucky them!

Fukuoka, Japan//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsFukuoka, Japan Fukuoka, Japan//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsFukuoka, Japan Fukuoka, Japan//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsFukuoka, Japan Fukuoka, Japan//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsFukuoka, Japan Fukuoka, Japan//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsFukuoka, Japan Fukuoka, Japan//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

And I promise the next post won’t be on shrines or temples. 😉

One thought on “Sumiyoshi Shrine (2)

  1. Oh no! I had one single bite during my holiday, but that let my hand swell weirdly and after the swelling was almost gone, it started to itch for several days … So I feel you (or like your pain divided by 100): Damn those foreign, hungry insects! I hope it’s all better now. 🙂
    Aaand the photos are awesome! I really like the water-spoon-thingies ^.^

    Like

Leave a Reply

