Night bus to Kobe + Kobe’s interesting architecture

After language school, I went volunteering (as I mentioned here). I set out for Kobe on the evening of 26 September. I left Fukuoka by night bus at 9:30 PM, and I soon decided I’d never again take a night bus. I don’t mind long bus rides, but please not at night!

As many other people, I can’t sleep in planes nor trains nor buses… So I bought a new Agatha Christie to read on the bus, but at 11 pm (after making a stop in Kitakyushu to pick up the last travelers) the lights went out unannounced. I was in the middle of reading my book…

Around midnight, there was a short rest stop so I started reading again. Of course, they turned of the lights unannounced again, so I turned on my phone’s screen (dimmest possible) to read until the end of the chapter. Who stops reading in the middle of a chapter?! Some bus staff got up, and told me and another person to turn of the light. No one noticed the light and Japanese people can sleep anywhere anyway, so what’s the deal?! Even the emergency lights on the floor in the corridor were brighter than my phone.

At 6:50 I got off at Kobe and first looked for the JR station I needed later to get to Himeji, where I would meet my WorkAway host at 2 PM. I walked around Kobe for a bit (it was my second time there so I thought I’d seen everything) and took some pictures here and there. Mostly of interesting architecture. Look at this variety of cute and themed shops!

Kobe, Japan Kobe, Japan Kobe, Japan Kobe, Japan

Sometimes I saw a really beautiful building, and looking up, found an ugly glass-and-steel building sticking out above it…
Kobe, Japan Kobe, Japan

 

Kobe, Japan Kobe, Japan Kobe, Japan Kobe, Japan Kobe, Japan Kobe, Japan Kobe, Japan Kobe, Japan

Of course I also made it to Kobe’s port, and I didn’t take photos of just architecture, so tune in on Wednesday for more Kobe pictures!

2 thoughts on “Night bus to Kobe + Kobe’s interesting architecture

  1. Pingback: The tumultous journey to Hagi | yoooya

  2. Pingback: For the love of Shoutengai | yoooya

Leave a Reply

