Time with a local + spider adventure

After our lunch at the hamburger place/bakery, my guides took me to a local sweets factory, where they sold sweet for incredibly cheap prices. The women who lived in Himeji bought warabi mochi for me. ^^

Himeji, Japan

Himeji, Japan

Himeji, Japan

Himeji, Japan

Himeji, Japan

On the way back we went to the art museum because there was an exhibition of Belgian landscape paintings. It turned out there were only seven paintings, but the little library next to the exhibition made up for the lack of art pieces. There were lots of books on famous painters, Belgium, Himeji, Japanese castles, Japan, etc. We spent two hours going through several books, learning and teaching about each other’s countries.

Afterwards, we walked around the castle. I surprised them by knowing all the possible paths they suggested, so they couldn’t show me anything new. 😉 As you know, I walked around the castle several times before, so nothing was new to me. When we arrived at my accommodation it was time to say goodbye. Before parting, the local promised she would contact me to meet up again.

Himeji, Japan

Himeji, Japan

After coming home and resting for a little while, I decided to go for yet another walk. I stopped at the supermarket and on my way back came across Kyoko, who told me she was going to make dinner soon so instead of going back to the annex I stayed at 588 Guesthouse. I hung out there, had dinner, watched some TV and returned to my room.

Himeji, Japan

Himeji, Japan

Himeji, Japan

As I was getting ready to go to bed early, around 9 PM… A cockroach! It disappeared almost immediately (which is kind of more gross than seeing it because you don’t know where and when it’ll appear again). And then! A huge spider… 😦 I was really freaking out. Spider aren’t scary, they’re just kimochi warui (gross)! I don’t want a spider in my room right before going to bed… So after trying to kill it or numb it with deodorant, I ran to the guesthouse for help. I really couldn’t go to bed unless the spider was gone! Kyoko tried to scare the spider out the window, but it disappeared and was lingering somewhere in my room. She suggested I slept at the guesthouse but since I’m such a light sleeper, I wouldn’t get much sleep there. I asked if it was okay if I slept on the first floor (the guesthouse part of the annex), which was okay for her. I moved downstairs, where I made spend the rest of my nights in Himeji in the end, hoping no insects or spiders would bother me there…

I could finally go to bed again about two hours after I originally tried going to bed, but didn’t get much sleep due to 97% humidity. NINETY SEVEN PERCENT HUMIDITY!

One thought on “Time with a local + spider adventure

  1. Pingback: For the love of Shoutengai | yoooya

Leave a Reply

