Kokoen Garden

I bought a ticket for both Himeji Castle and the adjoining Kokoen Garden, so after my 2-hour visit to the castle and lunch at the station, I headed for the garden. To be honest, I didn’t like it that much. Maybe the type of garden is just not my style or I was there in the wrong season, but it was rather plain to me. It was a beautiful garden in general, of course, but nothing out of the ordinary. After seeing Kumamoto’s Suizenji Garden my expectations might just be too high. It’s my favourite garden so far, so anything less might well be disappointing to me. It only took half an hour to go around the garden, so in any case it wasn’t big.

I did like the parts with the ponds though! The reflections were beautiful. Oh and fun fact; some scenes from Rurouni Kenshin were supposedly filmed here.

Himeji, Japan Himeji, Japan Himeji, Japan Himeji, Japan Himeji, Japan Himeji, Japan Himeji, Japan

I went home around 4 PM and, still tired and suffering from a terrible cold, took a 3-hour nap. I wanted to stay in bed and just sleep, but without dinner I would just wake up in the middle of the night with an empty stomach. I went to the supermarket to look for dinner and returned with some tempura and an overpriced bag of Doritos. Then I wrote my notes and fell asleep again!

3 thoughts on “Kokoen Garden

  1. Pingback: TOUR THIS JAPANESE GARDEN - Garden Pics and Tips

  2. Pingback: For the love of Shoutengai | yoooya

Leave a Reply

