Okayama Castle and Korakuen Garden

From Himeji’s white castle to Okayama’s black castle in one day! 😉

In stark contrast to the white “Egret Castle” of neighboring Himeji, Okayama Castle has a black exterior, earning it the nickname Crow Castle (烏城 U-jō).

Wikipedia: Okayama Castle

Okayama’s castle looked a little small so I opted to skip the visit and, after taking a few photos, went to the garden, which supposedly is one of the top three gardens in Japan. Once again, I was disappointed. I hereby strongly recommend Suizenji Garden in Kumamoto (again). As I recall, the unique thing about this garden is that it has a lot of grass area. That may have been the reason for my own disappointment.

Okayama, Japan Okayama, Japan Okayama, Japan Okayama, Japan Okayama, Japan Okayama, Japan Okayama, Japan Okayama, Japan Okayama, Japan Okayama, Japan Okayama, Japan Okayama, Japan

I walked back towards the station area to find a shop selling SD-cards, because I had been deleting so many photos and I would never be able to get all pictures of the next few days on the cards I had with me. Turns out all the dancers I just saw moved to the shoutengai to perform their show again! After finding and SD-card, I watched the whole thing again. Still amazing! So much energy, too.

Since I didn’t know what else to do in Okayama City, I tried to find my way to Hayashima, where my guesthouse for that night was located. It took a while to find the right train, but I couldn’t have caught an earlier one anyway. I had to wait for quite a long time, because few train stopped at Hayashima. Around 5 PM, I arrived at the guesthouse, and the girl was happy to show me around in Japanese (because I can ;)). I rested for a bit and then decided to go for the recommended okonomiyaki (again!) with my roommate Julia from Russia.

While waiting for Julia, I met two Autralians in the common space, whom I joined again after the delicious okonomiyaki. Later two Japanese guys also joined, one of them a police officer from Fukuoka (Fukuoka = my home away from home). After they left, two Brits joined. Everyone was really nice, and we had lots of fun. How I love meeting people from all over the world!

Everyone decided to retire around 8 PM, so I showered and wrote my notes. When I got out the shower, the Australian woman, Dorothy, was in the common space of the bathroom and as we were talking she gave me their email address so that if I ever go to Australia I should contact them (“because I’m a really nice girl”).

4 thoughts on “Okayama Castle and Korakuen Garden

  1. Pingback: For the love of Shoutengai | yoooya

Leave a Reply

