Canal Area of Kurashiki

After I strolled around the amazing Bikan Historic Area, I discovered the Canal Area. A picturesque little canal, lined by more whitewashed warehouses and weeping willow trees.

As in other canal towns, there were boat rides available. Since I’m a poor traveler (or, traveler ‘on a budget’, to make it sound more like a choice ;)), I didn’t get on neither did I take a ride on a jinrikisha (= rickshaw), which can often be found in historic districts.

Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan Kurashiki, Japan

I had lunch at a bakery called Vie de France in the station (though I would’ve loved to eat Japanese food instead, I’m one of those people that are scared to enter local eateries on their own, too bad!) and then went to my platform. It turned out the train for Onomichi was only 50 minutes later (so basically the previous one had just left). Since I hadn’t read in Agatha Christie’s ‘A Mysterious Affair at Styles’, which I’d bought for the bus trip to Kobe, I though it a good chance to finally continue. I initially intended to spend the 10+ train hours from Himeji to Fukuoka reading, but the scenery was always too breathtaking to put my head in a book. 😉

3 thoughts on “Canal Area of Kurashiki

  1. Pingback: For the love of Shoutengai | yoooya

Leave a Reply

