Itsukushima Shrine

After an hour’s tram ride, I arrived at Miyajima-mae Station, where I bought tickets for the ferry to the island. After a short boat ride from the mainland to Miyajima, which offered great views of the island, the first thing to do was of course to follow the crowds to the famous shrine.

Miyajima, Japan Miyajima, Japan

I love how this picture shows how small the huge shrine is compared to its surroundings.

Miyajima, Japan Miyajima, Japan Miyajima, Japan

Passing the tame deer and the groups of school kids, I could see the shrine towering above the sea. Unfortunately, due to my stop at Hiroshima, I was too late to see the ‘floating’ shrine. 😦

Miyajima, Japan Miyajima, Japan Miyajima, Japan Miyajima, Japan Miyajima, Japan

I usually don’t pay to enter shrines or temples, but for this one I didn’t mind. I’d been wanting to see it for years so I was happy to finally see it! Red being my favourite colour, this place was just amazing.

Miyajima, Japan Miyajima, Japan Miyajima, Japan Miyajima, Japan

After checking out the shrine, I saw signs pointing to a hiking route, so I followed and off I was again. I’ve never done more hiking than these 2,5 weeks! 😉 To see the gazillions of stairs I climbed, be sure to check out my next post!

2 thoughts on “Itsukushima Shrine

  1. Pingback: For the love of Shoutengai | yoooya

  2. Pingback: Ich mach das jetzt einfach. | crazyth1ngs

Leave a Reply

