Shimonoseki

From Miyajima-guchi to Shimonoseki, it took a bit over 3 hours by local train with a transfer in Iwakuni Station.

Shimonoseki Shimonoseki Shimonoseki

The only actual reason for me to get off at Shimonoseki was to walk the underwater tunnel from Honshu to Kyushu. If not for this, I’d have gone straight to Fukuoka.ย And since I’m such a cheapo, I decided to walk all the way to the tunnel, instead of taking a bus… Such a bad idea. I mean, it wasn’t such a bad idea, but it was really warm and I was tired of the four days going from one place to the next. It wasn’t difficult to walk though, following the big street running alongside the Kanmon Strait. Most of the time, there was a pedestrian road right next to the water, which made it a nice walk anyway.

Shimonoseki Shimonoseki Shimonoseki

Before arriving at the difficult-to-find tunnel, I stopped at some sort of small amusement park. The Ferris wheel had caught my eye, and since I still had lots of time left, I could use a rest and there were pretty much no people about, I though “why not!” So I rode the Ferris wheel, and I really was the only person on there…

Shimonoseki Shimonoseki Shimonoseki Shimonoseki Shimonoseki Shimonoseki Shimonoseki Shimonoseki

After that I just continued my walk towards the tunnel, and got there about half an hour later. (It took about 1,5 hours in total, from the station to the tunnel.) As I mentioned, the entrance was really difficult to find. Or, it was at least poorly signed. After a little search, I found out the entrance was actually across the street (if you’re ever there, it’s across the street from these canons ;)).

Shimonoseki

The tunnel is about 800 meters long and passes under the Kanmon Strait from Honshu to Kyushu. It was pretty cool to knowย I was walking under the sea… ๐Ÿ˜€

Shimonoseki Shimonoseki Shimonoseki

A 10-minute walk later, I arrived in Kitakyushu (or to be more precise;ย I already did in the middle of the tunnel) and found out it was still quite a walk (more walking?!) to the nearest public transportation… Which wasn’t the nearest transportation at all in the end.

On the map there was something about a train-like vehicle called “Mojiko Retro Scenic Line” that was supposed to go from “Norfolk Hiroba Station” to Mojiko Station (where I’d catch the train to Fukuoka), and it’s not just on the local map… Google Maps shows it as well. When I arrived at that Norfolk Hiroba Station though, I found it abandoned and locked. According to the internet, it’s still in service, so I have no idea why it wasn’t in use at that time. Too bad, I would’ve loved to ride it.

Kitakyushu Kitakyushu

In the end I had to walk all the way to Mojiko Station (passing weird sights like the Dutch in the first picture above, and an out-of-place tall building in the second picture) where I was lucky to find a train for Fukuoka leaving in only a few minutes. About an hour later, I finally found myself in a trusted surrounding again: Hakata Station. I quickly transferred to the local Kagoshima Line to Sasabaru and was reunited with my friends at Sharely Style Hakata! ^^

8 thoughts on “Shimonoseki

  1. Pingback: For the love of Shoutengai | yoooya

  2. I definitely need to install some maps app before going to Japan. I ALWAYS get lost … ๐Ÿ˜€
    The amusement park looks so colourful. Now I want to have summer. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
    And why is there a fugu (erm, pufferfish?) on the sign for Shimonoseki city? Is it their official animal or are they famous for fugu dishes or something? ^^
    Aaand sorry for spamming you with comments below all your articles!

    Like

    • Hahaha good idea! I’ve never really gotten lost… ๐Ÿ˜‰
      A little more patience, at least it’ll be spring soon. ^^
      Yep, Shimonoseki is apparently known for its fugu restaurants! There were references to the fish all over the city as well. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      No no, I’m happy to see your comments every time! ^^

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m sure you haven’t. You’ve been exploring spontaneously! ๐Ÿ˜€
        You’re right, it’s even sunny today. In Bielefeld! Unbelievable! You know what I realized? I might just haaaave to stay until April to see the Sakura bloom. I so wanna see those flowers. O.O But so far I have no idea whether I can afford to stay that long … But they are so pretty! *whine*
        Oh, interesting. But no reason to put it on my list of places to go, if I’m honest. ^^
        Yaaay, I can keep on blabbering! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

      • As long as I can find the station, I’m not lost ๐Ÿ˜›
        Really? Started raining here just now! I bet the rain is on its way to you… Muhaha ๐Ÿ˜€ But it has been rather warm this winter here, I guess it’s about the same over there?
        You should! ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s beautiful!! ^^ I hope I can make it in time this year ๐Ÿ˜€
        You’re right, of course ๐Ÿ˜› I was only there for the underwater tunnel anyway ๐Ÿ˜‰
        Sure, ใฉใ†ใžใฉใ†ใž ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

      • That’s a valid point! :3
        You were right! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ It even hailed for a few minutes. Mean Yooya, sending the bad weather over here! :<
        Aaaand next year of course, so you can show me around! ๐Ÿ˜›
        I see. So I'll ask you for advice considering Japan – and underwater tunnels, if I ever need to know anything about them. ๐Ÿ˜€
        I think I want a chat thingy for your blog. xD I'm always thinking of new things to ask you and get confused by the different topics in different comments.

        Liked by 1 person

      • So did you get that weird crazy windy stormy weather today as well? >_< Not my fault this time, I swear! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
        Hahaha if I could, I definitely would! ๐Ÿ˜€
        Sure thing! ๐Ÿ˜›
        Maybe you should send me an email; laura_@live.be, that might be easier! ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeeees! It’s windy and rainy right now as well. And I got nearly blown away on my way back from the Japanese course xD Okay. I will believe you, this time! รฒ.รณ
        Oooor that! XD My idea was unpractical as usual, but hey, my version was in theory technically much more advanced! And and and stuff! ^^ To ensure you will have that song in your mind for the rest of the evening, I’ll say: “Be prepaaaaaaaaaared! *dancing hyenas in the background*” for an email from someone called Tanja in the next few days. Putting all my questions into emails might shorten my comments a bit, though not by much … ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

Leave a Reply

