November walk in the village

In November, we had a few exceptionally warm days. On one of them I decided to take my new camera for a walk in my village, because ‘hey, I can now photograph these things with a better camera!’… 😉

Baasrode is a quiet little village along Belgian’s main river, the Scheldt, with about 6,000 inhabitants. There isn’t much to say about this place, though I could probably still write a long post about it if I would try. To name just a few things I could write about: we have two museums, a chocolate maker who exports to Harrods London and got the world record for ‘biggest chocolate praline’ a few years ago, we have a little steam train that runs on summer Sundays and a small nature park along the Scheldt. It’s a simple place but I like it here. 🙂

If you really want to know more about it, I could dedicate a post or two to Baasrode, but I wouldn’t want to bore you with it so here are a few photos of my walk in November.

The door handle of the gate of our newest museum (a museum on the history of this place):

Autumn in Baasrode, Belgium

The old landing for our ferry boat:

Autumn in Baasrode, Belgium

The old landing on the other side (the blue thing on the left is the new one):

Autumn in Baasrode, Belgium

The ferry boat:

Autumn in Baasrode, Belgium

Autumn colours on the trees of the church domain:

Autumn in Baasrode, Belgium

Autumn colours in front of our old brewery (unfortunately, the Germans took all the metal kettles to make weapons in World War II… The building is now off-limits due to danger of collapsing):

Autumn in Baasrode, Belgium

One thought on “November walk in the village

  1. Pingback: November | yoooya

Leave a Reply

