A visitor from Switzerland

My friend from Switzerland, Hanna, arrived on New Year’s Eve at Brussels Airport. As she was invited to have dinner with us, we picked her up at the airport. After dinner, we went back to Brussels to spend New Year’s Eve there. She’d booked a hotel and let me stay over as well. Due to the terrorism risk in Brussels, we could unfortunately not really celebrate much. There were no fireworks, no countdown, no celebrations. Though there were lots of people out and about, I’m quite sure the usual crowds are much bigger, louder and cheerful. Too bad!

The next days, I showed her around Brussels and was glad to hear she likes Brussels more than Paris. That’s awesome! The narrow alleyways, old buildings and little modernity made her love the city. We were also lucky the on the first morning of the new year, most people slept in, so there were barely any tourists crowding the Grand Place or in front of Manneken Pis.

January January January January January January

As usual when we have foreign visitors, my dad offered to drive around the neighbourhood to show the little things we’re so proud of. The most important among those? The chocolate factory (Callebaut) nearby! We just drive there, open our windows and savour the mouth-watering aroma of chocolate being made.
(whenever the wind is blowing in the right direction, we can even smell it outside at home, and I can assure you it’s the most delicious smell to wake up to!)

We had Belgian food every day, which was accompanied by our delicious fries. She was the first foreigner I know that truly appreciated the deliciousness that is Belgian fries. We had an awesome four days, and I was really happy to see her again. Thank you Hanna, see you soon!

6 thoughts on “A visitor from Switzerland

    • Yep, it’s a really nice city. 😉
      That’s true! But they could’ve just let it all happen, since the Grand Place was completely crowded anyway… (the events were cancelled because they didn’t want people to gather anywhere). We stood there, and I asked my friend “Hmm is is midnight already?” She checked her phone, which showed 0:00, but nothing happened. Everyone was just standing there… It was a really awkward situation, haha!

      Like

      • It’s definitely on the list to visit one day 🙂 that’s such a shame, especially if so many people were waiting. Though I’ve always found that in my home city – people just look around expectantly, as if someone will announce: It’s midnight! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Great, I’m sure you’ll love it 😉
        So, there are no fireworks or anything when it’s midnight? Usually here in Belgium every town has fireworks, so from where I live (we have a big garden), we can see fireworks all around!

        Like

      • There are not in my home city – there used to be but the council cut it from the budget I think. In Manchester, where we are now, there are I think but it’s always sooo busy and quite rowdy! That sounds wonderful having lots near you.

        I must also say I am so so sorry to hear what has happened in Brussels today – I hope you and all of your loved ones are safe.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ahh, of course those are the first things to be cut from the budget… Too bad! Hmm, can’t they be seen from afar? Yep, though they’re not spectacular, it’s still a nice thing to see!
        Thank you very much! It’s a sad event, of which the solution is unfortunately not near. I hope for the rest of Europe (and the world) that they don’t have to go through something like this.

        Like

Leave a Reply

