Brussels attack commemoration + visit to Parc de Cinquantenaire

Last week, when we went to Brussels for Thai food, we passed to commemorations of the terrorist attack in Brussels Airport and Maelbeek metro station. I felt strange. There was silence. People praying. Parents trying to explain to their children… It’s difficult to describe the feeling I got when I stood in front of all these flowers, signs for peace, candles, etc. I also felt a bit uncomfortable or disrespectful taking these pictures, but I wanted to share them with you.

March March March March

Afterwards, we had Thai food at my friend’s parents restaurant down the street opposite the stock exchange building. Then off to Parc de Cinquantenaire (Jubelpark). Unintentionally, we passed to metro station where a third bomb had exploded, and were overwhelmed by that same feeling again. (credit to my friend Lieselot who took the three pictures)

March March March

On our way to Parc de Cinquantinaire, we passed through the Wetstraat/Rue de la Loi (literally Law Street), which is where most national and E.U. government buildings are located. The army was present everywhere, to the great joy of my friend, who’s a big fan of the army’s presence in Brussels…

March

At the end of the Wetstraat/Rue de la Loi is the Parc de Cinquantinaire, an impressing parc of which I’ve written before. I wrote one of two posts about one of the main attractions there, the Army Museum, not too long ago and when my friend saw it she said “What? Where’s this? I never knew this museum existed! Take me there!” So I did, but since the museum has an entrance fee since January, we decided to come back on a free day (the first Wednesday of the month). 😉 So we just sat there and enjoyed the view.

March March March

On our way back, I was complaining that I needed to go to the toilet. The combination of Pad Thai and Bubble Tea had upset my stomach. 😦 As we saw many signs with ‘TO LET’ on them, I jokingly said “Someone should put an ‘I’ in between those words.” When we arrived back to the centre of Brussels, I realized someone had actually put that idea into action… We couldn’t stop laughing at this (especially since I’d only said it a few minutes earlier). 😀

March

Leave a Reply

