Strolling around Matsue Castle

I had imagined Matsue completely different. As the capital of a prefecture, I had expected more of a busy city feel, but my expectations for one of the least populated parts of Japan were too high. Around the castle, there were some people, but in other parts of the city I didn’t encounter a single soul. The city looked rather abandoned, but they did have these incredibly cute little tram-like buses!

Well, at least no crowds means good opportunity for taking pictures without people! 😉

I strolled around the castle grounds, before checking out the castle itself. When arriving at the grounds, there were this impressing trees covered with white flowers. I’d never seen trees like that before, and I totally forgot their name… 😦

There were some nice walking paths around the castle, very nice for a rest and some lunch on a bench. (I don’t know why, but Japanese always stare whenever I’m eating on a bench. In Japan, it’s ‘morally wrong’ to eat while walking, so I have no choice but to sit down on a bench and eat then…)

Check out the pretty amazing castle at the end of the post! And lastly, looks who’s hanging around the castle for some memorable photos of your visit. ^^

Cute tram in Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan Matsue, Japan

After my visit to the castle grounds, I also walked around the city for a bit, hoping to stumble upon something interesting. I think I walked over 5 km and, apart from a McDo, Pizza Hut and Burger King, I couldn’t find a place to eat either. I ended up at the station’s department store food corner and had a huge bowl of kitsune udon (AND WiFi). Mmmm!

Kitsune udon at Matsue station, Japan

Leave a Reply

