Two Nights at Y Pub&Hostel Tottori

In Tottori, I stayed at a fairly new hostel (it opened less than 4 months earlier) called Y Pub&Hostel TOTTORI. It was a bit confusing to find the entrance, because it’s located inside the pub… The ‘reception’ is actually just the pub’s counter. The ‘hostel’ part wasn’t advertised very well outside. I greeted the people as I walked in, and soon I was talking to the staff in Japanese. It’s always funny to see their relieved face when they realize a guest can speak their language… 😉

They didn’t show me to my room and just told me my room and which bed was mine. The beds were kind of like a capsule hotel, as you can see in the pictures below. I personally didn’t like how my capsule faced another person’s capsule directly, and how they put just two guests for that night right across each other. I wondered why they couldn’t just give us some space if there were enough free beds anyway… I was glad the capsules could be made almost pitch black, because I have a hard time sleeping in places that are too light.

The common space was clean and nicely designed. There were two showers, two toilets, a small kitchen and two sinks.

I didn’t sleep well, because the staff was too noisy. There was one person ascending and descending the stairs with what we like to call ‘elephant feet’ at home. You know, when someone walks inside and they sounds like they’re the weight of an elephant? Yep, elephant feet. In the middle of the night and early in the morning, they were noisy, and the sounds from the bar below also reached the second floor.

Y Pub&Hostel, Tottori, JapanY Pub&Hostel, Tottori, Japan Y Pub&Hostel, Tottori, Japan Y Pub&Hostel, Tottori, Japan Y Pub&Hostel, Tottori, Japan Y Pub&Hostel, Tottori, Japan Y Pub&Hostel, Tottori, Japan Y Pub&Hostel, Tottori, Japan

On the second day, I had walked too much and when I got back I didn’t feel like going out for dinner anymore. I decided to eat downstairs at the bar, but that was a big disappointment. Though they were very kind to make me something that was according to my likes and dislikes in food. The dinner I got was far from what I’d imagined. A tiny pizza (without tomato sauce) with cheese, potatoes, beans and mushrooms. It wasn’t even enough to call it a snack, and the oil dripped off of it from all sides. All this for 700 yen (that’s 6 euros), rather expensive for Japan…

Y Pub&Hostel, Tottori, Japan Y Pub&Hostel, Tottori, Japan Y Pub&Hostel, Tottori, Japan

One thought on “Two Nights at Y Pub&Hostel Tottori

Leave a Reply

