Yura aka Conan Town (part IV)

Here we are, the last part of my Conan Town series! And I just realized, I forgot to tell you why Conan is so important to me. It’s the only anime I watch, so what makes it so special?

My interest in Japan is all thanks to Conan, that’s what it is! If I had never watched Conan, I may not have become interested in Japan at all… Before I watched Conan, my ex-boyfriend made me watch another anime (Death Note) and though it was okay, I didn’t like it all that much. Two years later, after tagging along to some Japanese events (but still not interested), we broke up and with so much free time all of a sudden, I decided to give anime another chance. I looked for something I would like (I think I even specifically looked for the term ‘detective’) and found Detective Conan! I was absorbed in it from the very first episode, and in just a month and a half, I had watched all 500+ episodes up to then. I started wondering about cultural things I saw in the anime, and as I’m one of those people who just needs to know the answers to all her questions, I started researching. Bit by bit I also starting picking up words and phrases… Almost 400 episodes later, I’m still watching and I’ve been to Japan 4 times!

So yeah, I’m grateful to Conan! ^^

GAMF Museum, Tottori, Japan Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan

But my favourite character is Hattori Heiji, the high school detective from Osaka (mainly because he speaks the Osaka dialect).

Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan

This picture has nothing to do with Conan, but I though it was both funny and ‘going too far’ that they actually have to ban these things. I mean, isn’t it terrible that people don’t even have enough common sense to not use these things where it’s dangerous?

Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan Yura aka Conan Town, Tottori, Japan

4 thoughts on “Yura aka Conan Town (part IV)

  1. Conan Station … ❤
    Yes, I think Conan is one of the few really realistic anime shows, when it comes to everyday issues at least. (Let's ignore Professor Agasa's inventions, Conans relations to important organisations and the physics of his football talent … :D) In the first few episodes I watched I remember that the translation team wrote tons of annotations about historic facts or Japan-specific rules and customs, which was really awesome. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Japan’s Desert | yoooya

Leave a Reply

