Japan’s Desert

Sand Dunes, Tottori, JapanSand Dunes, Tottori, JapanSand Dunes, Tottori, Japan

“Japan even has a desert!” is what I read somewhere a couple of years ago, and I thought, “Huh, what?! Where?!” and thus I read the article and found out about the Tottori Sand Dunes. Now, I don’t want to spoil it for you, but don’t let pictures like the ones above (or even better, the ones including camels) fool you. Other articles, like the one I read, usually only show pictures in which the dunes actually look like an endless desert, but I’ll give you a bit more images of the surroundings.

I’m not saying they’re not worth a visit, because the sand dunes are definitely impressive. I’m assuming it used to look more like a desert years ago, that the vegetation has appeared due to global warming. It’s just a guess though!

Views from the train (Matsue-Tottori), Japan Sand Dunes, Tottori, Japan Sand Dunes, Tottori, Japan Sand Dunes, Tottori, Japan


Sand Dunes, Tottori, Japan Sand Dunes, Tottori, Japan

As usual, I didn’t take the main route, which is from the cable car 🚠 to a much less steep hill. You know I’m not the one to take the road most travelled by. 😉 (but I probably also damaged my knee even more by doing this…)

Sand Dunes, Tottori, Japan Sand Dunes, Tottori, Japan Sand Dunes, Tottori, Japan

This next one was one of the most amazing views I’ve ever been a witness of; the endless ocean (ahum, it’s not really an ocean; Sea of Japan/East Sea). 🌊❤

Sand Dunes, Tottori, Japan Sand Dunes, Tottori, Japan Sand Dunes, Tottori, Japan

It had rained earlier that day (when I visited Yura aka Conan Town) and so the sand was still wet, so it was rather difficult to move in the sand. With every step I took, my feet sank deep into the sand, as you can see on the picture below. The last picture shows my ‘walking route’ down the highest hill; definitely not in a straight line!

Sand Dunes, Tottori, JapanSand Dunes, Tottori, Japan

Leave a Reply

