That day I met the most amazing girl ever (2)

I kind of messed up my post last Friday. I changed the order in which I was going to tell the story, but I forgot to change the title accordingly. In any case, here’s the actual story of that day I met the most amazing girl ever. 😃

I had been following the blog of a food-loving NZ English teacher in Japan for a while. I commented every now and then, and one day, when I told her I would be travelling to her area, she told me she’d gladly be my guide. We became facebook friends. When my volunteering plans changed, I suddenly had no place to stay for about five days. I told this girl about that and asked whether she knew anyone that could offer me a cheap/free place to stay… Her reply: “Girl you can stay with me, but I live super rural. But you can still stay!! I can drive you to Himeji or Kobe. Or no wait I have work but you can stay!” 💬

I couldn’t believe it at first. She’d let a total stranger stay over at her apartment for free! 👏

When I got closer and closer to the place she lived, I got more and more excited. The views we a-ma-zing! The dismal clouds over the mountain tops, man I’ll never forget. ☁☁

The train stopped at Ohara Station, I got off and showed my ticket, then exited the station building. In front of me, a car was waiting. 🚗 A joyful girl got out and welcomed me with such hospitality I’ve never experienced. She has the ability to be liked by just about anyone, with her enthusiasm and her down-to-earth attitude.

After putting my luggage (“Oh! You’re travelling with just that backpack?! Wow!”) in the car’s trunk, we drove off. Straight to the supermarket, if I recall correctly. “The supermarket is 30 minutes away by car,” she said, “so we can get to know each other in the meantime.” She told me how glad she was to have me, that she’d had not much company since she arrived there. She told me about people she met (check out her blog for stories, she’s a great story teller), about the kids at the schools she taught at, about New Zealand. She asked about my likes and dislikes when it comes to food, about Belgium, about my trips.

At the supermarket, she told me she couldn’t read Japanese at all, to which I replied I couldn’t imagine living in Japan without any knowledge of Japanese. Still, she knows how to eat healthy (and mostly organic!) in a country where that’s not always easy. She’s amazing, really. For our dinner, she planned to make a simple soba salad, which sounded delicious. She picked out all the vegetables I liked, and asked whether I would like some nuts with it. The nuts confused her, because she wanted unsalted peanuts, so I helped her out with my Japanese knowledge.

We then drove to her apartment, half an hour again. “There’s a small supermarket where I live too, but they don’t sell much,” she informed me.

When we arrived at her home, she told me about her bicycle 🚲 I could use, how to lock it, how to use the bike stand thingy (I have no idea what it’s actually called). Actually, she’d only arrived back from a surprise visit to her family in New Zealand the day before. All the more proof that’s she’s amazing. Who’d have someone over immediately after coming back from a far trip overseas? (Me when I arrived back in Belgium, but that’s a story for later ;P) She hadn’t had time to put up my futon and stuff, so she apologized for the mess and such. She was mothering me, though she’s much younger than me. I’m sure she’ll be a great mother some day. 😉

After showing me around her apartment, we had tea together 🍵 and chatted some more. Later, I was told to relax and take it easy while she prepared dinner. I don’t like people doing stuff for me while I do nothing, so I offered to help her out. I could cut the vegetables, she said, and so we made dinner together. 🍜

I was lots of fun, and the dinner was goooood. I asked her tips for making good salads and about seasoning. She’s an awesome food-loving blogger after all. 😉

Mimasaka, Okayama, Japan

This was the start of an incredible stay in the breathtaking Japanese inaka with the most inspiring girl in history. And the start of a great friendship. 🙌

She’ll soon declare in the comments that this is all an exaggeration and that she didn’t do anything, but that’s just the point. She didn’t do anything. She didn’t try to look cool, all she did was being herself. She’s just real and true to herself. To understand that, go check out her blog at I accidentally ate the whole thing! Make sure to read some older  posts as well. ^^

Here’s a preview of what’s to come… 📷

Mimasaka, Okayama, Japan Mimasaka, Okayama, Japan Mimasaka, Okayama, Japan Mimasaka, Okayama, Japan Mimasaka, Okayama, Japan Mimasaka, Okayama, Japan Mimasaka, Okayama, Japan Mimasaka, Okayama, Japan Mimasaka, Okayama, Japan Mimasaka, Okayama, Japan

Anisa, sweety, you are the best! 😍

3 thoughts on “That day I met the most amazing girl ever (2)

  1. Pingback: It’s My Birthday | iaccidentlyatethewholething

  2. For me, this is a blog post surprise. I myself have followed Anisa’s blog for a few months now and agree that she has a lot to say and has done some excellent posts, both for their visual beauty and her opinions and ideas about life in Japan, and her quasi-exile from her beloved New Zealand – not to mention her recipes.

    I was really surprised to read about you meeting her as I’m pretty sure I discovered your blog from some mention on her blog ?!

    I’m so glad you two got together.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehe I couldn’t believe I got to meet her either! It’s really something, how all this blogging connects people and it makes for amazing meetings!

      Like

Leave a Reply

