Backstreets of Kyoto

After a few days of resting after my visit to the hospital (of which I planned to tell the story, but it’s been too long now… long story short: my knee hurt, hospital couldn’t help me and told me to go to a doctor in Belgium, got surgery in Belgium 3 months later) I finally went for another photo walk. I really like the backstreets which show the life of the city. Lots of really cute houses, with their front garden consisting of a whole lot of flowerpots, little traditional stores and small temples here and there.

Kyoto, Japan Kyoto, JapanKyoto, Japan Kyoto, JapanKyoto, Japan Kyoto, JapanKyoto, Japan Kyoto, JapanKyoto, Japan Kyoto, JapanKyoto, Japan Kyoto, JapanKyoto, Japan Kyoto, JapanKyoto, Japan

As usually, I eventually ended up at the river again. 😉

Kyoto, JapanKyoto, Japan Kyoto, JapanKyoto, Japan

Our guesthouse’s manager was always asked his recommendations for food, and every single time he’d send people to the ramen shop on the big road, with the yellow sign. My friend and I didn’t really trust this place so we never actually went there, but most people said it had good food. 😉

Kyoto, Japan

And if you ever go to Peace House Sakura, go past that ramen shop, and go left just before the pedestrian bridge. On the left side of the road you’ll find this little house and you’ve arrived. It’s a really nice guesthouse and I planned on writing a post about it to promote it, but eventually I didn’t get to take any pictures from the inside. But I do recommend it. 👌

Kyoto, Japan

I returned to the guesthouse because my knee had started to hurt again, so I had lunch and departed by bicycle again. I roamed the streets at the other side of the river, and came across this very old but cute shoutengai.

Kyoto, Japan

Leave a Reply

