A day in Osaka (2)

After our rest, we set forth our journey and found yet another temple. This time, we just walked by it and were intrigued by the golden tower. We couldn’t read the temple’s name, but went in to explore. At the entrance they were doing some reconstructing, so we asked whether it was okay to enter first.

Osaka, Japan Osaka, JapanOsaka, Japan Osaka, JapanOsaka, Japan Osaka, JapanOsaka, Japan

I can’t remember the name, but I do remember that part of it was dedicated to people who wanted to quit a bad habit, mainly drinking.On the sign it said:

The grave of Lord Honda Izumonokami Tadamoto.

Lord Honda Izumonokami Tadamoto was a warrior (samurai) and a follower of the famous Shogun Tokugawa Ieyasu who established the Edo period.
In 1615 he died in the summer Battle of Osaka which was carried out in Isshinji.
It is said that because he realized his approaching death was a result of too much sake, he decided to help other people with the same affliction.
So, many people who want to stop drinking and their family member visit his grave to pray. The grave was built in 1616. After that the many prayers of visitors who wish to stop drinking can be seen on the “shamoji” place around the monument.

Osaka, JapanOsaka, Japan Osaka, JapanOsaka, Japan Osaka, Japan

We walked back towards Tsutenkaku, where one of the guys suddenly decided to go change clothes because his hotel was near. (weird Koreans…) While we were waiting for him, I could finally take a few more pictures of the cute traditional Shinsekai shotengai, the Tsutenkaku tower and Billiken (“The god of things as they ought to be”).

Osaka, Japan Osaka, JapanOsaka, Japan Osaka, JapanOsaka, Japan Osaka, JapanOsaka, Japan

We ended our day at the famous Dotonbori, where my friends decided I needed a picture of the local Ichiran store. (I didn’t need one.) And then of course, the obligatory picture of the Glico man thingy. We hung out for a bit and took pictures together, but the it was time to say goodbye to one of the two guys. So sad to see him go, because I don’t know when we’ll meet again. 😦

Osaka, JapanOsaka, Japan

After we said goodbye, I hung out with the other guy for a bit more. We went to eat Osaka’s famous takoyaki, but my friend forgot I don’t eat tako (octopus). He urged me to eat anyway, so he took out the tako pieces for me so I could eat … a ball of dough? Hahaha
Then it was time for another farewell, but this time I knew when I’d see my friend again. (We meet again in Belgium 2 weeks later.) Off to Kyoto again, where I snapped a few more pictures of the beautiful nightly scenery along the river. ^^

Kyoto, JapanKyoto, Japan

Leave a Reply

