Tako-less takoyaki party!

Last week, I was asked what I eat in Japan, since there’s so much stuff I DON’T eat. Coincidentally, I planned a post about food today, so here’s one answer to that question. 😛

My sweet Canadian friend Danielle, who was my classmate, best friend and travel buddy during my first trip to Japan, was staying with a host family in Osaka during her study abroad. She and her host family invited me for dinner, and after understanding my peculiar eating habits, they decided to have takoyaki. But as I mentioned in my previous post, I also don’t eat tako (squid). Her host mother Miyuki then proposed takoyaki without the tako, which itself already sounded interesting.

Then Danielle messaged me it would be cheese and kimchi takoyaki, a very weird combination… until we tried it!

I arrived at the station, where Danielle picked me up, and we walked to her host family’s house, where I was warmly welcomed by her host mom. She was really happy I could speak Japanese so well, so we could just converse in Japanese only. They had prepared everything beforehand, and the takoyaki machine was all set.

After an umeshu appetizer, we could start making the tako-less takoyaki. I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves. 😉 (thanks Miyuki, for letting me use the last two)

Tako-less takoyaki Tako-less takoyakiTako-less takoyaki Tako-less takoyakiTako-less takoyaki Tako-less takoyakiTako-less takoyaki Tako-less takoyakiTako-less takoyaki

These little kimchi, cheese, chikuwa and spring onion filled balls were delicious. It was my very first time making takoyaki, and I had so much fun! It was also great to see my dear friend Danielle again, it had been 4 years! Danielle’s host family was really kind and I hope to see them again some day. 🙂

Thanks for such a great evening Danielle, Miyuki and the others! ^_^

(oh, by the way, I started using Instagram again, follow me @lifeofyooya)

One thought on “Tako-less takoyaki party!

  1. Pingback: Kyoto > Fukuoka > home | yoooya

Leave a Reply

