A visitor from Korea – Brussels part

So my friend arrived the very day I came back from Japan, and I was incredibly tired, but hospitality above everything! That was Friday evening. My friend was apparently even more tired than I was, because I was up around 6 am (a little jet-lagged maybe?) while he woke up only after 11. While I was waiting, my sister’s daughter (my goddaughter) visited for 2 hours, and even that didn’t wake him up.

Anyway, since it was already close to noon, we couldn’t visit a far place, so I decided to visit Brussels. We saw the usual Manneken Pis (who was dressed up in something Spanish that day) and the Grand Place, but my friend wanted to walk through the streets no tourist ever goes instead. So we had lunch at Croque en Ville, below the Justitiepaleis, and then he told me there was a shop he wanted to visit near the Louisalaan. I suggested walking there, but maybe we should’ve taken the tram instead. I don’t mind walking 2-3 km, but it was a little far for my friend… And the shop didn’t even sell what he wanted to buy.

On our way back to the central area, we took the streets less traveled by again, rather dangerous from my point of view. I’d never think of taking those streets, but thanks to my international visitors -who don’t know the dangers of Brussels- I go to places I normally wouldn’t. Since we’d been walking quite a bit, and my knee problems hadn’t suddenly disappeared, we rested at a little park we found. It was the park behind the Hallepoort, one of the gates remaining from the city wall.

It was a fun day, and we were so exhausted that on the train home we actually fell asleep (which is something I definitely not do usually).

My friend took the pictures from the flowers picture onward, because he insisted on carrying my heavy camera. Koreans and their unnecessary chivalry… 😉 I think he’s attracted to pigeons; he took pigeon pictures with my camera in Osaka as well.

Brussel, Belgium Brussel, BelgiumBrussel, Belgium Brussel, BelgiumBrussel, Belgium Brussel, BelgiumBrussel, Belgium Brussel, BelgiumBrussel, Belgium Brussel, BelgiumBrussel, Belgium Brussel, BelgiumBrussel, Belgium Brussel, BelgiumBrussel, Belgium Brussel, BelgiumBrussel, Belgium

Leave a Reply

