Nanzoin temple (part III)

After going through the amazing tunnel, I found a charming little pond with next to it this bright red gate. I followed the stairs up, and found a small shrine.

Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan

We’re getting close to the giant Buddha statue!

Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan

But first, let us take in the beautiful countryside view…

Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan

I love these! Why is everything so cute in Japan?! They even sell Hello Kitty statues for grave decoration, I’m not kidding!

Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan

I’m not entirely sure, but I think these guys represent the Seven Lucky Gods the tunnel was named after.

Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan

Next? An unbelievable number of colourful origami cranes!

Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan

Lastly, before I show you the great reclining Buddha, some more statues. I’m not quite sure who they represent, because I can’t find any information about them on the web, but the left one is ‘Saba Great Teacher’ and the one on the right is ‘Fish Ghost Kannon’ (I’m not sure about the name, I’m unable to find the right reading, but the kanji read ‘fish’ and ‘ghost’ ;)).

Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan Nanzoin, Fukuoka, Japan

Leave a comment