Animals in Mimasaka

Animals always deserve a separate post! 😉 Last time I visited Japan, I saw lots of cats, but I guess this time wasn’t cat season. Here’s a collection of the animals I saw in Mimasaka: the usual crows, but this time wading through the rice fields; a dog, but with a diaper; a crab, not sure if it was dead or alive; a salamander, I saw many but once spotted they hide quickly; a bunch of dragonflies and Japanese broad-winged damselflies/demoiselles/jewelwings.

I searched the internet for a long time to find out what those ‘red-winged flying animals resembling dragonflies’ were, and I eventually found out with the help of a friend. In English, they appear to only have a Latin name, namely Mnais Costalis. In Japanese, however, they’re called ニホンカワトンボ (nihon kawa tonbo), which literally means ‘Japan river dragonfly/damselfly’. Finding its incredibly plain (or obvious) name was kind of a bummer, but I’m still glad to finally know what they are. (I’m the kind of person that hates not knowing something… 😊)

Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka Animals in Mimasaka

9 thoughts on “Animals in Mimasaka

  1. Pingback: Be Calm, Be Strong, Be Grateful | iaccidentlyatethewholething

Leave a comment